God’s Ways are DEFINITELY not man’s ways

The Lord said to Gideon, “The people with you are too many for me to give the Midianites into their hand, dlest Israel boast over me, saying, ‘My own hand has saved me.’ 3 Now therefore proclaim in the ears of the people, saying, e‘Whoever is fearful and trembling, let him return home and hurry away from Mount Gilead.’ ” Then 22,000 of the people returned, and 10,000 remained.
The Holy Bible : English standard version. 2001 (Jdg 7:2-3). Wheaton: Standard Bible Society.

God knew man’s inclination to take credit for his work. That’s so true today! We want the assurance that Gideon had that God is in this work (see Judges 6 & 7) or effort we are entering into AND we want the safety of having all the bases covered for the effort. Ouch! Not only is that depictive of man in general, it nails me right where I’m at. Faith steps aren’t about doing something in our power, with our knowledge and our plans. Here, Gideon planned. It was OK for him to do so. It’s just that God had a different plan. One that wasn’t as comfortable for Gideon as he had originally scripted. God just took 22,000 people away from him for battle. Now, what Army general would say, “We don’t need more troops…send them back and, oh, by the way, take 2/3 of the guys who are here too?” God works unconventionally.

Father, as I enter into today with the tasks and chores ahead, allow me to plan according to your Will and then be readily obedient to alter those plans as you lead.

Leave a comment