The Weight of a Father

I’m getting to that age when it’s now recommended I see the physician annually for a “checkup”. Boy, it’s hard to admit I’ve arrived at that point in my life. I remember doing things and not even considering the potential consequences. I would ask my body to do something and it didn’t respond back, “Are you sure you want to do this?” I’m in relatively good health. Blood pressure and cholesterol run a little higher than I or my doctor would like. About 30 lbs overweight but pretty active and working on losing the extra weight.

NBC’s The Biggest Loser is one of the few shows our family watches regularly. In the skein of reality shows, it’s one of the few that promote something redeeming for participant and viewer alike and that overweight-mandon’t use the humiliation of people as the entertainment value. It’s amazing to watch the weight melt off of the contestants week after week. Every season the impact of carrying excess weight on virtually every other aspect of health related problems is evidenced. The loss of weight is tantamount to reducing or alleviating so many other symptoms of illness; diabetes, back and joint problems, high blood pressure and cholesterol and a slew of others. Living a long and healthy life is almost always directly related to shedding excess weight.

Being a father carries its own weight. Do you feel it, dad? Sometimes we want to shed the weight of being a dad like we want to lose pounds off the middle. But this is a weight we aren’t supposed to lose. We are reminded in song, verse and life that our kids are watching us. Rodney Atkins has a great music video about his 4 year old son both swearing and praying as a result of watching his dad. That’s a heavy thought, isn’t it? My kids are really no longer kids. At 21, 19 and 17 yrs of age, they have seen me in action thousands of days and in thousands of circumstances. Sometimes they caught what I did NOT want taught. Sometimes I got it right and modeled for them well. I know I haven’t always done it perfectly but I’ve always been aware that they are right there, even when they weren’t. Being a dad and living so that the next generation knows how to live well is a weighty dad-bowling-with-childresponsibility.

So, what things are you modeling or have you modeled to your kids that you prefer they not catch? Or, on the flip side, how has the model of your life equipped them to embrace God’s plan for their lives? These are good questions for us to consider each day. Not only does God have an interest in our daily conduct, but it’s imperative for our kids to see a life modeled well for them to even have a chance in this ever challenging world of ideals and changing values. They can’t live out what they don’t see lived. Notice, I didn’t say, “lived perfectly”. It’s not perfection they need modeled, but rather INTENTion. Ultimately, what matters for their sake is that we took the responsibility of being a dad seriously and carried the weight well.

So, while I intend on losing the 30lbs of excess weight in 2009, I also intend on carrying the weight of being a dad as a king carries the responsibility of leading a kingdom. How about you? Will you carry the weight of being a dad without the burden. Being a dad is a high calling. But, dad, remember that you don’t carry it alone. We have a loving Father who carries your burdens and asks you to give them to Him daily. Don’t run from the weight of fathering. Embrace it as the most important role you play. Pssst…as an aside, consider losing those pounds off the middle…your kids need you around as long as possible 😉

SOUND OFF: When you consider your role as a dad, what has been the most important lesson you’ve modeled (either good or bad) and how have you built that lesson into your children’s lives?

Bookmark and Share

One thought on “The Weight of a Father

  1. Chris

    I think one of the best things I’ve tried to model to all of my children is to love and care for others. Take others into account no matter what you are doing. How you make others feel is how you will be remembered.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

